生产制造中的3D打印应用

解决难题,优化流程

航空航天、汽车、国防、消费品、医疗等领域的企业都正在采用数字制造工具来实现工业 4.0 。3D 打印能有效提高效率,使包括生产工程师、机械师在内的工作人员能够获得所需工具,加紧供应链上各个单位的合作、提高产量以及更快地进入市场,从而节省上百万元的经济成本以及数周甚至数月的时间成本。

参考特斯拉、通用电气和戴森等公司如何将 3D 打印引入为其工具之一,以了解如何为您的生产业务寻找使用增材技术的机会

Trusted by

 

为供应链的各环节添加价值

3D 打印技术的改进开启了广泛的生产应用可能性。强大的桌面级 3D 打印机配合适应性极强的材料实现了高精度的功能性 3D 打印件,以胜任在严苛环境的工厂环境中作为成品部件使用。

Pankl Racing Systems

数月内证实 ROI

与使用外包服务或传统制造方法相比,进行内部 3D 打印能快速节省大量时间和成本。


了解 3D 打印的成本以及如何有效地与其他方案比较:使用以下互动工具计算您自己的 ROI。

计算您的 ROI

成本对比

Pankl 赛车系统公司通过 3D 打印定制夹具,显著地节省了项目周期和经济成本。

 

3D 打印

5 - 9 小时

快 48 倍 

$9 - $28 美金

成本仅为 12 分之一 

 

CNC 机加工

2 - 3 weeks

 

$45 - 340 美金

 

将 3D Printing 集成于生产中

无论是加快原型设计、缩短周转时间、还是降低外包制造工具的成本,生产流程在各方面都可从 3D 打印中受益。

1. 预生产

通过内部 3D 打印部件,您可以可加速工作流程、降低迭代成本、加紧反馈循环,并验证部件的设计和可制造性,从而避免各种因供应链所导致的延期。

 

Holley 公司制造的后市场 LED 灯管,采用 Grey Resin 打印而成。

功能外观均与成品相似的 Wöhler HF 550 Wood Moisture Meter 湿度计原型,采用 Flexible Resin (柔性树脂) 和 Black Resin (黑色树脂) 打印而成。

快速原型

使用先进的材料以 测试概念、沟通要求并验证设计的可制造性。在投资昂贵的生产工具之前,先进行小批量生产或一次性的定制生产方案,以进行全面的现场和内部测试。

案例研究:Riegler 如何缩短周转期和成本

A&M Tool and Design 公司的沟通模型,采用 Grey Resin (灰色树脂) 打印而成。

交流用模型

实物模型有助于沟通 2D 绘图中的复杂性,并降低出现错误和误会的几率。使用 3D 打印件清晰无误地与客户或其他团队成员沟通 可制造性设计 (DFM)  的多种考虑因素,例如可用的工具、半径的最低要求、以及所需的工序数量等。

A&M Tool and Design 公司的部件,用于生产性验证

生产性验证

使用 3D 打印的替代打印件或替代零件来快速配置装配线、评估夹具和固定装置的人体功效,并校准自动化过程。替代部件可以取代精密的昂贵部件或在个别流程(如二次成型) 中被消耗的子组件。同时也可在培训机械操作人员时应用替代部件,减少使用昂贵原部件的成本。

3D 打印已成为我们十分重要的工具。虽然听起来有点儿陈词滥调,但该技术确实让我们得以突破常规思维。

GUIDO JACQUES
运营副总裁
A&M Tool and Design 公司

2. 生产工具

与外包给外部供应商并采用机械加工固体塑料或金属块制造部件相比 ,内部快速制造便宜的夹具、固定装置和工具能 缩短以日、甚至周计的周转时间、 提高业务灵活度并显著降低成本。

由 Tough Resin 打印而成的定位夹具

Pankl 赛车系统公司的定制夹具,由 Tough Resin (高韧树脂) 打印而成

夹具和固定装置

通过内部生产夹具和固定装置,不再需要顾及最小订货量或繁琐的刀具路径编程。取而代之的是广泛的材料选择和低资本设备成本,让产线能够降低成本并提高灵活性。使用改善装配或质量保证流程的夹具和固定装置,可不断改善产品,并快速有效地处理生产线上的问题。

白皮书:设计 3D 打印的夹具和固定装置

USB 注射模具,采用 High Temp Resin (耐高温) 打印而成

工具制造

制造能承受工厂严苛环境要求的定制工具,以帮助您解决制造过程中最棘手的难题。通过直接打印用于各种应用程序 (例如注射成型和 CNC 弯管工序) 的工具,您可以验证制造流程、解决 DFM 问题并提高灵活性。 

白皮书:使用 3D 打印的模具进行注塑成型

若将工序外包给传统的加工服务提供商,我们必须等待六周才能开始生产。若使用 3D 打印,只需将相同的设计发送到打印机,然后第二天早上便能取得已完成打印的部件。

CHRISTIAN JOEBSTL
工艺工程师
Pankl Racing Systems 公司

3. 成品部件

无论是本地铸造厂还是《财富》美国 500 强的企业,3D 打印件都能减少其生产工序中的时间及资源密集性步骤。高性价比的定制化生产同时带来的是无与伦比的灵活性,让企业能够创造更多商机。

打印的模型 (左) 和由开口砂模制成的铝铸件成品 (右)

金属铸造

高精度的聚合物 3D 打印件非常适用于铸造工作流程。与传统方法相比,它能降低生产金属零件的成本,具有更大的设计自由度以及所需时间较短。世界各地的铸造均已开始采纳 3D 打印技术去制造用于直接投料的模型,注蜡模具和铸造砂模。

在线教学:利用 3D 打印技术制造金属零件

RightHand Robotics 机械手的成品 (左),其二次成型的核心结构由 Clear Resin (透明树脂) 打印的模具制造,然后采用 Black Resin (黑色树脂) 打印而成。右边是手指的原型,由 Flexible Resin (柔性树脂) 打印而成。

小批量生产

采用 3D 打印进行短期生产可以让您 灵活地编辑设计,而无需投资高昂成本于制造工具中。这也是生产大量最终成品的高成本效益替代方案。

剃刀热成型模具,采用 High Temp Resin (耐高温树脂) 打印而成

Molding

在投资昂贵工具前测试模具设计。打印可立即使用的模具,并在热固性和热塑性工作流程中与适应性强的材料配合使用来制造低产量的注塑成型、二次成型和铸造组件。

白皮书:利用 3D 打印部件进行模具制造

New Balance 数据定制的短跑钉鞋

Mass Customization

无需投资昂贵的工具,亦不需要大量的时间、能源或耗材,3D 打印技术便能让您生产多种复杂的设计。自动的 3D 打印方案可帮助您大规模生产个性化产品,以配合大众的市场需求。从医疗行业中病人的定制手术模型、 假牙到消费市场中的鞋垫、耳机等产品都是大规模定制化生产的成功案例。 

多年来,我们一直是 3D 打印技术的领导者。我们是第一家将定制钉鞋带给我们专业跑步运动员的企业,并随后将钉鞋扩展到其他体育项目。现在,我们热切期待将此技术带给消费者,进一步提升运动员的表现。

 

从设计到生产,一台 3D 打印引擎足矣

采用如 Formlabs Form 3  和 Form 3L 这样易于使用的工业级台式机器,工程师可以成功快速开始打印,而无需投放进行维修和故障排除的时间和成本。 Formlabs 构建了一个功能强大的 3D 打印机器,具有 行业领先的硬件,多样化的 高级材料库和易于使用的软件,助您完成从原型设计到生产的各个工序。

探索 Form 3 用 Form 3L 打印大型部件

3D Printing in Manufacturing

Overcome Challenges, Optimize Workflows

Companies across aerospace, automotive, defense, consumer goods, medical, and more are adopting digital manufacturing tools to take steps towards the promise of Industry 4.0. 3D printing is a catalyst for efficiency, giving staff from production engineer to machinist the tools to tighten supply chains, improve production, and get to market faster—saving hundreds of thousands of dollars and weeks to months of time along the way.

Learn how companies like Tesla, General Electric, and Dyson are adding 3D printing to their toolset, and find opportunities for additive technology in your own production environments.

  • Trusted by

Value Across the Supply Chain

Advancements in 3D printing have unlocked a broad spectrum of production applications. Powerful desktop 3D printers and resilient materials open opportunities for producing high precision, functional 3D prints that can stand in for final parts, and stand up to the rigors of the factory floor.

Pre-production
Accelerate iteration, tighten feedback loops, and validate part design and manufacturability.

Production tools
Drastically cut lead time and costs, improve operational agility, and build custom tooling tough enough for the factory floor.

End-use parts
Reduce time- and resource-intensive steps in production processes and open new business opportunities.

Pankl Racing Systems

Prove ROI in Months

 

Bringing 3D printing in-house can quickly save significant time and costs compared to outsourcing or using traditional manufacturing methods.

Understand the costs of 3D printing and how to effectively compare to alternatives: use this interactive tool to calculate your own ROI.

Calculate Your ROI

Cost
Comparison

Pankl Racing Systems significantly reduced lead time and costs by 3D printing custom jigs.


 

  • 3D Printed
    • 5 - 9 hours
      48x faster
    • $9 - $28
      12x cheaper
  • CNC Machined
    • 2 - 3 weeks
    • $45 - $340

Integrating 3D Printing Into Production

From accelerating prototyping to cutting the lead time and costs of outsourcing tooling, manufacturing processes are ripe with opportunities to benefit from 3D printing.


Pre-Production

3D print parts in-house to accelerate and reduce iteration costs, tighten feedback loops, and validate part design and manufacturability to get ahead of potential supply chain delays.

 

Aftermarket LED lightbar by Holley, printed in Grey Resin

A looks-like, works-like prototype of the Wöhler HF 550 Wood Moisture Meter, printed in Flexible and Black resins.

Rapid Prototyping

Use advanced materials to test concepts, communicate requirements, and validate designs for manufacturability. Create small-batch runs or one-off custom solutions for comprehensive field and in-house testing before investing in expensive tooling for production.


Case Study: Cutting Cycles and Costs at Riegler

Communication model by A&M Tool and Design, printed in Grey Resin

Communications Models

Physical models can better communicate intricacies from 2D drawings, and reduce the likelihood of errors and miscommunication. Use 3D prints to clearly communicate design for manufacturability (DFM) considerations like tool access, minimum radii, and the number of operations required to customers or other team members.

Manufacturing validation, part by A&M Tool and Design

Manufacturing Validation

Use 3D printed stand-ins, or surrogate parts, to quickly configure assembly lines, evaluate ergonomics of jigs and fixtures, and calibrate automation processes. Surrogate parts are also useful for high value parts or subassemblies that are delicate or are consumed in a process like overmolding. Workers can be trained with the low-cost surrogate parts, and dial in machine settings without using the real product.


3D printing has become a priceless tool in our toolbox. It’s kind of a cliché, but it’s really allowing all of us to think completely outside the box.Guido JacquesVice President of Operations
A&M Tool and Design


Production Tools

Bring rapid, cost-effective production of jigs, fixtures, and tooling in-house to save days or weeks of lead time, improve operational agility, and dramatically reduce costs versus outsourcing parts to an external vendor to machine from solid billet of plastic or metal.

Snap fit enclosure, printed in Grey Pro, Rigid, and Tough resins

Custom jig by Pankl Racing Systems, printed in Tough Resin

Jigs and Fixtures

Reduce costs and increase agility by bringing jig and fixture production in-house with no minimum order quantities, no toolpath programming, wide material selection, and low capital equipment costs. Continuously improve products and respond quickly and effectively to issues on your manufacturing line with jigs and fixtures that improve assembly or QA processes.

White Paper: Designing 3D Printed Jigs and Fixtures

USB injection mold, printed in High Temp Resin

Tooling

Build custom tooling that stands up to the rigors of the factory floor, and can help solve your toughest manufacturing challenges. Validate manufacturing processes, solve DFM issues, and increase flexibility by direct printing of tooling for applications ranging from injection molding to CNC tube bending.

White Paper: Injection Molding from 3D Printed Molds


By outsourcing to traditional machining service providers, we would have had to wait six more weeks before we could start production. With 3D printing, you can simply take the same design, send it to the printer, and then have the finished part ready by the next morning.Christian JoebstlProcess Engineer
Pankl Racing Systems


End-Use Parts

From a local foundry to a Fortune 500 company, 3D printed parts are reducing time- and resource-intensive steps in production processes and opening new business opportunities with the flexibility of cost-effective customization.

Pattern printed in Grey Resin (left) and a finished aluminum casting from an open-faced sand mold (right)

Metal Casting

High precision, polymer-based 3D prints are well-suited for casting workflows to produce metal parts at a lower cost, with greater design freedom, and in less time than traditional methods. Foundries around the world use 3D printing for directly investable printed patterns, molds for wax injection, and sand casting patterns.


Webinar: Fabricating Metal Parts With 3D Printing

Robotic finger final part (left), including overmolded cores printed in Black Resin produced with molds printed in Clear Resin, and finger prototype (right), printed in in Flexible Resin, by RightHand Robotics

Short Run Production

Short run production with 3D printing provides flexibility to change designs without sinking high costs into tooling, and a cost-effective manufacturing alternative for producing end-use parts in the tens and hundreds.

Razor thermoform mold, printed in High Temp Resin

Molding

Test mold designs prior to committing to expensive tooling. Print ready-to-use molds for thermoset and thermoplastic workflow with materials resilient enough for low-volume injection molding, overmolding, and casting components.


White Paper: Moldmaking With 3D Prints

Data-customized sprint spikes by New Balance

Mass Customization

Without the need to invest in costly tooling, use 3D printing to manufacture a variety of complex designs with no more time, energy, or material than producing simple parts. Automated 3D printing solutions can help to scale personalized products for mass market opportunities such as patient-specific models in healthcare to consumer products like dentures, shoes, and earbuds.


We have been a leader with 3D printing technology for many years, when we were the first to bring customized spike plates to our professional runners and have expanded into other sports since then. Now we look forward to taking this technology to consumers to further improve athlete performance.Rob DeMartiniNew Balance President
and CEO

One 3D Printing Engine, From Prototyping to Production

With easy-to-use, industrial-grade desktop machines like Formlabs Form 2, engineers can quickly begin printing successfully without investing time and costs into maintenance and troubleshooting. Formlabs has built one powerful 3D print engine with industry-leading hardware, a diverse library of advanced materials, and easy-to-use software that covers you from prototyping to production.

Order the Form 2 Now   
Request a Sample

Contact Sales

×
×