Leistungsstarke, erschwingliche 3D-Drucker für Fachleute

Formlabs setzt den Branchenmaßstab für professionellen 3D-Druck für Unternehmen auf der ganzen Welt mit zugänglichen, zuverlässigen 3D-Druckern für den Desktop und den Benchtop. Skalieren Sie Ihre Prototypenfertigung und Produktion mit hochauflösenden Teilen zu einem Bruchteil der Kosten und des Platzbedarfs von industriellen 3D-Druckern.

 

Form 3

Der branchenführende Desktop 3D-Drucker, basierend auf Low Force Stereolithography (LFS)

Den Form 3 kennenlernen

Form 3L

Der erste erschwingliche großformatige 3D-Drucker für Kunstharz

Den Form 3L kennenlernen

Form Cell

Skalierbare Produktion mit Multi-Printer-Lösungen

Den Form Cell konfigurieren

Fuse 1

Die industrielle Leistungsfähigkeit des selektiven Lasersinterns für den Benchtop

Weiter zum Fuse 1

Was ist 3D-Druck?

3D-Druck oder additive Fertigungsverfahren erzeugen dreidimensionale Teile aus computerunterstützten Entwürfen, sie das Material Schicht für Schicht hinzufügen, bis ein physisches Teil entsteht.

Obwohl es seit den 80er Jahren 3D-Drucktechnologien gibt, haben die jüngsten Fortschritte bei Maschinen, Materialien und Software den 3D-Druck einem breiteren Spektrum von Unternehmen zugänglich gemacht, so dass immer mehr Unternehmen Werkzeuge einsetzen können, die bisher auf wenige Hightech-Industrien beschränkt waren.

Heute beschleunigen professionelle, kostengünstige Desktop- und Benchtop-3D-Drucker Innovationen und unterstützen Unternehmen in verschiedenen Branchen wie Maschinenbau, Fertigung, Zahnmedizin, Gesundheitswesen, Bildung, Unterhaltung, Schmuck und Audiologie.

Wie funktioniert 3D-Druck?

Alle 3D-Druckprozesse beginnen mit einem CAD-Modell, das zur Designvorbereitung an die Software geschickt wird. Je nach Technologie fertigt der 3D-Drucker das Teil Schicht für Schicht durch Aushärten von Harz oder Sinterpulver. Die Teile werden anschließend aus dem Drucker entnommen und für die jeweilige Anwendung nachbearbeitet.

Sehen Sie sich an, wie Sie mit dem Form 3 SLA 3D-Drucker vom Design zum 3D-Druck gelangen. In diesem fünfminütigen Video werden die Grundlagen der Verwendung des Form 3 erläutert, von der Software und den Materialien über den Druck bis hin zur Nachbearbeitung.

 

1. Design

 

3D-Drucker fertigen Teile auf Grundlage von dreidimensionalen Modellen, den mathematischen Darstellungen dreidimensionaler Flächen, die mithilfe von Software für das rechnergestützte Design (CAD) oder aus 3D-Scandaten erstellt werden. Das Design wird anschließend als STL- oder OBJ-Datei exportiert, die von der Druckvorbereitungssoftware gelesen werden kann.

3D-Drucker beinhalten Software, um Druckeinstellungen festzulegen und das digitale Modell in Schichten aufzuteilen, die horizontale Querschnitte des Teils darstellen. Zu den anpassbaren Druckeinstellungen gehören Ausrichtung, Stützstrukturen (falls erforderlich), Schichthöhe und Material. Sobald die Einrichtung abgeschlossen ist, sendet die Software die Anweisungen über eine Drahtlos- oder Kabelverbindung an den Drucker.

 

2. 3D-Druck

 

Einige 3D-Drucker verwenden einen Laser, um flüssiges Kunstharz zu gefestigtem Kunststoff zu härten, andere verfestigen kleine Partikel aus Polymerpulver bei hohen Temperaturen, um Teile herzustellen. Die meisten 3D-Drucker können bis zur Fertigstellung des Drucks unbeaufsichtigt laufen. Moderne Systeme füllen automatisch das für die Teile benötigte Material aus Kartuschen nach.

Bei Formlabs 3D-Druckern ermöglicht ein webbasiertes Dashboard die Fernverwaltung von Druckern, Materialien und Arbeitsgruppen.

 

 

3. Nachbearbeitung

 

Je nach Technologie und Material müssen Druckteile mit Isopropylalkohol (IPA) gespült werden, um ungehärtetes Harz von der Oberfläche zu entfernen, und nachgehärtet werden, um die mechanischen Eigenschaften zu stabilisieren. Sofern vorhanden, müssen Stützstrukturen manuell entfernt werden, und es kann erforderlich sein, übrig gebliebenes Pulver mit Druckluft oder einem Strahlgerät abzublasen. Einige dieser Prozesse können mit Zubehör automatisiert werden.

3D-Druckteile können direkt verwendet oder für bestimmte Anwendungen nachbearbeitet und für die erforderliche Optik, zerspant, grundiertlackiertbefestigt oder verbunden werden. Häufig dient der 3D-Druck auch als Zwischenschritt neben konventionellen Fertigungsmethoden, z. B. bei Urmodellen für den Feinguss von Schmuck und Dentalvorrichtungen oder bei Formen für Sonderanfertigungen.

Die Vorteile des 3D-Drucks

Da additive Fertigungsverfahren Objekte durch schichtweises Hinzufügen von Material erstellen, bieten sie eine Reihe von  einzigartigen Vorteilen gegenüber traditionellen subtraktiven und formativen Fertigungsverfahren.

Geschwindigkeit

Mit traditionellen Fertigungsverfahren kann es Wochen oder Monate dauern, bis ein Teil eintrifft. 3D-Druck verwandelt CAD-Modelle innerhalb weniger Stunden in physische Teile und fertigt Teile, Baugruppen von einmaligen Konzeptmodellen, funktionsfähige Prototypen und sogar Testproduktionen in Kleinserien. So können Designer und Ingenieure Ideen schneller entwickeln sowie Unternehmen dabei unterstützen, Produkte schneller auf den Markt zu bringen.

Ingenieure am AMRC nutzten den 3D-Druck , um schnell 500 hochpräzise Bohrkappen herzustellen, die bei Bohrversuchen für Airbus verwendet werden. So konnten sie die Durchlaufzeit von Wochen auf nur drei Tage verkürzen.

Kosten

Beim 3D-Druck entfallen die kostspielige Werkzeugausstattung- und Einrichtung im Zusammenhang mit Spritzguss oder Zerspanung; die gleiche Ausrüstung kann von der Prototypenfertigung bis zur Produktion verwendet werden, um Teile mit unterschiedlichen Geometrien herzustellen. Da der 3D-Druck zunehmend in der Lage ist, funktionale Endverbrauchteile herzustellen, kann er traditionelle Fertigungsmethoden für ein anwachsendes Anwendungsspektrum in kleinen bis mittleren Stückzahlen ergänzen oder ersetzen.

Pankl Racing Systems ersetzte maschinell bearbeitete Halte- und Vorrichtungen durch 3D-Druckteile und senkte die Kosten um 80–90 Prozent, was zu Einsparungen von 150 000 US-Dollar führte.

Personalisierung

Von Schuhen über Kleidung bis hin zu Fahrrädern sind wir von Produkten in limitierter, einheitlicher Größe umgeben, da Unternehmen bestrebt sind, Produkte zu normieren, um sie wirtschaftlich herzustellen. Beim 3D-Druck muss nur das digitale Design modifiziert werden, um jedes Produkt ohne zusätzliche Werkzeugkosten an den Kunden anzupassen. Diese Transformation begann zunächst in Branchen, in denen eine individuelle Anpassung unerlässlich ist, wie der Medizin und der Zahntechnik, aber da der 3D-Druck immer erschwinglicher wird, wird er zunehmend zur Massenanpassung von Konsumgütern eingesetzt.

Razor Maker™ von Gillette gibt Verbrauchern die Möglichkeit, personalisierte 3D-Drucke von Rasierergriffen zu gestalten und zu bestellen. Sie haben die Wahl von 48 verschiedenen Designs (und es werden mehr), einer Vielzahl von Farben und der Option, benutzerdefinierten Text hinzuzufügen.

Gestaltungsfreiheit

Der 3D-Druck kann komplexe Formen und Teile wie Überhänge, Mikrokanäle und organische Formen erzeugen, die mit traditionellen Fertigungsmethoden kostspielig oder gar unmöglich zu produzieren wären. So können Baugruppen zu weniger Einzelteilen zusammengefasst werden, um Gewicht zu sparen, schwache Verbindungsstellen zu entlasten und die Montagedauer zu verkürzen und so neue Möglichkeiten für Design und Maschinenbau zu erschließen.

Nervous System brachte die erste 3D-gedruckte Keramikschmucklinie auf den Markt. Diese besteht aus komplexen Designs, die mit keiner anderen Keramiktechnik hergestellt werden können.

Vermindertes Risiko

Die Produktentwicklung ist ein iterativer Prozess, der mehrere Runden von Tests, Auswertung und Optimierung erfordert. Das frühzeitige Erkennen und Beheben von Konstruktionsfehlern kann Unternehmen helfen, kostspielige Revisionen und Werkzeugwechsel im weiteren Verlauf zu vermeiden. Mit dem 3D-Druck können Ingenieure Prototypen, die wie Endprodukte aussehen und funktionieren, gründlich testen. So werden die Risiken von Bedienbarkeits- und Fertigungsproblemen reduziert, bevor sie in die Produktion gehen.

Die Entwickler von Plaato, einer optisch transparenten Luftschleuse für eine Brauanlage, druckten 1000 Prototypen in 3D, um ihr Design zu optimieren, bevor sie in eine kostspielige Werkzeugausstattung investierten.

Anwendungen und Gebrauch des 3D-Drucks

Der 3D-Druck beschleunigt die Innovation und unterstützt Unternehmen in einer Vielzahl von Branchen, darunter Maschinenbau, Fertigung, Zahnmedizin, Gesundheitswesen, Bildung, Unterhaltung, Schmuck, Audiologie und mehr.

Maschinenbau und Produktdesign

Rapid Prototyping mit 3D-Druck ermöglicht es Ingenieuren und Produktdesignern, Ideen in realistische Konzeptnachweise zu verwandeln, diese Konzepte zu Prototypen mit hoher Originaltreue weiterzuentwickeln, die wie Endprodukte aussehen und funktionieren, und Produkte durch eine Reihe von Validierungsstufen zur Massenproduktion zu führen.

Anwendungen:

Weitere Informationen

Fertigung

Hersteller automatisieren Produktionsprozesse und optimieren Arbeitsabläufe durch die Herstellung von Prototypenwerkzeugen und den direkten 3D-Druck von maßgefertigten Werkzeugen, Formen und Fertigungshilfsmitteln zu deutlich niedrigeren Kosten und Durchlaufzeiten als bei der traditionellen Fertigung. Dies reduziert die Fertigungskosten und -fehler, erhöht die Qualität, beschleunigt die Montage und maximiert die Arbeitseffektivität.

Anwendungen:

Weitere Informationen

Zahnmedizin

Die digitale Zahntechnik verringert die durch menschliche Faktoren verursachten Risiken und Unwägbarkeiten und bietet in jeder Phase des Arbeitsablaufs eine höhere Konsistenz, Genauigkeit und Präzision zur Verbesserung der Patientenversorgung. 3D-Drucker können eine Reihe von hochwertigen und maßgefertigen Produkten und Anwendungen zu niedrigen Stückkosten mit hervorragender Passform und wiederholbaren Ergebnissen produzieren.

Anwendungen:

Weitere Informationen

Bildung

3D-Drucker sind multifunktionale Werkzeuge für immersives Lernen und innovative Forschung. Sie können die Kreativität fördern und die Studenten mit Technologien auf professionellem Niveau vertraut machen und gleichzeitig die STEAM-Lehrpläne für Naturwissenschaften, Maschinenbau, Kunst und Design unterstützen.

Anwendungen:

Weitere Informationen

Gesundheitswesen

Der erschwingliche, professionelle Desktop-3D-Druck hilft Ärzten, Behandlungen und Geräte bereitzustellen, die individuell auf jeden einzelnen Patienten zugeschnitten sind. So können sie hochleistungsfähige medizinische Anwendungen anbieten und gleichzeitig den Unternehmen viel Zeit und Kosten vom Labor bis in den Operationssaal sparen.

Anwendungen:

Weitere Informationen

Unterhaltungsindustrie

Hochauflösende physische Modelle sind weit verbreitet in der Bildhauerei, Charaktermodellierung und Requisitenherstellung. 3D-Druckteile spielten in Stop-Motion-Filmen, Videospielen, maßgeschneiderten Kostümen und sogar Spezialeffekten für Blockbusterfilme eine wichtige Rolle.

Anwendungen:

Weitere Informationen

Schmuck

Juwelierfachleute verwenden CAD- und 3D-Druck, um schnell Prototypendesigns zu erstellen, Kunden Passstücke anzubieten und große Chargen von gussfertigen Teilen herzustellen. Digitale Hilfsmittel ermöglichen das Erstellen gleichmäßiger, detailreicher Stücke ohne die mühselige Kleinarbeit und Abweichung, die mit dem Wachsschnitzen einhergehen.

Anwendungen:

Weitere Informationen

Audiologie

Hörakustiker und Otoplastiklabors nutzen digitale Workflows und 3D-Druck, um qualitativ hochwertigere, maßgefertigte Ohrpassstücke gleichmäßiger und in höheren Stückzahlen für Anwendungen wie Hinter-dem-Ohr-Hörgeräte, Gehörschutz und individuell angepasste Ohrhörer und -stöpsel herzustellen.

Anwendungen:

Weitere Informationen

Arten von 3D-Druckern

Formlabs bietet zwei professionelle 3D-Drucktechnologien: Stereolithografie und selektives Lasersintern, die diese leistungsstarken und zugänglichen Werkzeuge für die industrielle Fertigung in die kreativen Hände von Fachleuten auf der ganzen Welt bringen.

Stereolithografie (SLA)

So funktioniert Stereolithografie

Der Stereolithografie (SLA) 3D-Druck verwendet einen Laser, um flüssiges Photopolymerharz zu festen isotropen Teilen zu härten.

Beim herkömmlichen Verfahren, der invertierten SLA, wird eine Konstruktionsplattform in einen Harztank abgesenkt, bis nur noch eine dünne Flüssigkeitsschicht zwischen der Plattform und dem Tankboden verbleibt. Galvanometer leiten den Laser durch ein transparentes Fenster am Boden des Harztanks. Der Laser zeichnet einen Querschnitt des 3D-Modells und härtet das Material gezielt aus. Der Druck besteht aus aufeinanderfolgenden Schichten, die jeweils weniger als hundert Mikrometer dick sind. Stützstrukturen sorgen dafür, dass Überhänge dort, wo es nötig ist, an der Plattform haften bleiben. Wenn eine Schicht fertig ist, wird das Teil vom Tankboden abgezogen, wobei frisches Harz darunter fließen kann, und die Plattform wird wieder abgesenkt. Dieser Vorgang wird wiederholt, bis der Druck abgeschlossen ist.

Stereolithografie eignet sich hervorragend für:
  • Rapid Prototyping
  • Funktionales Prototyping
  • Konzeptmodellierung
  • Kleinserienfertigung
  • Zahnmedizinische Anwendungen
  • Prototypenfertigung und Gießen von Schmuckstücken
Mehr über den SLA 3D-Druck erfahren

Selektives Lasersintern (SLS)

So funktioniert selektives Lasersintern

3D-Drucker mit selektivem Lasersintern (SLS) verwenden einen Hochleistungslaser, um kleine Partikel aus Polymerpulver in eine feste Struktur zu sintern.

Das Pulver wird in einer dünnen Schicht auf einer Plattform innerhalb der Baukammer verteilt und der Drucker erwärmt das Pulver auf eine Temperatur knapp unter dem Schmelzpunkt des Rohmaterials. Der Laser scannt einen Querschnitt des 3D-Modells und verbindet die Partikel mechanisch zu einem festen Teil. Das ungesinterte Pulver stützt das Teil beim Drucken und erspart die Verwendung dedizierter Stützstrukturen. Die Plattform sinkt um eine Schicht in die Baukammer, in der Regel zwischen 50 und 200 Mikrometer, und ein Nachbeschichter trägt eine neue Pulverschicht auf die Oberfläche auf. Der Laser scannt dann den nächsten Querschnitt der Bauteile. Dieser Prozess wird für jede Schicht wiederholt, bis die Teile fertiggestellt sind.

Selektives Lasersintern eignet sich hervorragend für:
  • Funktionales Prototyping
  • Endverbraucherteile
  • Kleinserienfertigung, Bridge Manufacturing oder Maßanfertigung
Mehr über den SLS 3D-Druck erfahren

Materialien für den 3D-Druck

Der Markt für 3D-Druckmaterialien ist breit und wächst ständig. Von Kunststoffen über Metalle bis hin zu Lebensmitteln und lebendem Gewebe werden Drucker entwickelt. Formlabs bietet die folgende Palette von Photopolymer-Materialien für den Desktop an.

Standard

Aus Standard-3D-Druckmaterialien bieten hohe Auflösung, feine Details und eine glatte Oberfläche. Sie eignen sich ideal für die Rapid Prototyping, Produktentwicklung und allgemeine Modellierungsanwendungen.

Diese Materialien sind in Black, White und Grey mit einer matten Oberflächengüte und einem lichtundurchlässigem Erscheinen erhältlich, in Clear für Teile, die eine Lichtdurchlässigkeit erfordern, sowie als Color Kit, das fast jede kundenspezifische Farbe abdeckt.

Standard-3D-Druckmaterialien kennenlernen

Maschinenbau

3D-Druckmaterialien für Maschinenbau, Fertigung und Produktdesign wurden konzipiert, um eine umfangreiche Funktionalität zu bieten. Sie überstehen umfassende Tests, funktionieren unter Belastung und bleiben im Laufe der Zeit stabil.

Materialien für den Maschinenbau sind ideal für den 3D-Druck von robusten, präzisen Konzeptmodellen und Prototypen, um schnell durch Entwürfe zu iterieren, Form und Passform zu beurteilen und Fertigungsprozesse zu optimieren.

3D-Druckmaterialien für Maschinenbau kennenlernen

Zahnmedizin

Zahnmedizinische Kunstharze ermöglichen es Dentallabors und -praxen eine Reihe von Dentalprodukten kostengünstig in Eigenfertigung herzustellen, von Dentalmodellen , über biokompatible BohrschablonenSchienen und kieferorthopädische Modelle zum Tiefziehen von Retainern und Alignern.

3D-Druckmaterialien für Zahnmedizin kennenlernen

Schmuck

Juwelierkunstharze sind konzipiert, um atemberaubende Details zu erfassen und individuellen Schmuck kostengünstig herzustellen. Diese Harze sind ideal für die Prototypenfertigung und das Gießen von Schmuckstücken sowie von Formen aus Silikon- und vulkanisiertem Kautschuk.

3D-Druckmaterialien für Schmuck kennnenlernen

Keramik

Ceramic Resin ist ein experimentelles Material, das vermeintliche Grenzen des 3D-Drucks hinter sich lässt. Es wurde entwickelt, um 3D-Druckteile mit einer steinartiger Oberflächenbeschaffenheit zu fertigen und sie zu Vollkeramikstücken zu brennen. Stellen Sie Keramikteile für die Ingenieursforschung her oder kreieren Sie unverwechselbare Kunst- und Designobjekte.

3D-Druckmaterialien für Keramik kennenlernen

Kosten und Kapitalrendite von 3D-Druck

In den letzten Jahren sind High-Resolution 3D-Drucker für industrielle Anwendungen erschwinglicher, intuitiver und zuverlässiger geworden. Dadurch ist die Technologie nun für mehr Unternehmen zugänglich. Lesen Sie unseren ausführlichen Leitfaden zu den Kosten vom 3D-Druck oder bewerten Sie mithilfe unseres interaktiven Tools , ob diese Technologie unter ökonomischen Gesichtspunkten für Sie sinnvoll ist.

Ihren ROI berechnen
Request a Sample

Powerful, Affordable 3D Printers for Professionals

Formlabs is establishing the industry benchmark for professional 3D printing for businesses around the globe with accessible, reliable 3D printers for the desktop and the benchtop. Scale your prototyping and production with high-resolution parts at a fraction of a cost and footprint of industrial 3D printers.

 

Form 3

The Industry-Leading Desktop 3D Printer, Powered By Low Force Stereolithography

Form 3L

The First Affordable Large Format Resin 3D Printer

Factory Solutions

The Next-Generation of Production, Tailored To You

Fuse 1

The Industrial Power of Selective Laser Sintering for the Benchtop

What is 3D Printing?

3D printing or additive manufacturing (AM) technologies create three-dimensional parts from computer-aided design (CAD) models by successively adding material layer by layer until physical part is created.

While 3D printing technologies have been around since the 1980s, recent advances in machinery, materials, and software have made 3D printing accessible to a wider range of businesses, enabling more and more companies to use tools previously limited to a few high-tech industries.

Today, professional, low-cost desktop and benchtop 3D printers accelerate innovation and support businesses in various industries including engineering, manufacturing, dentistry, healthcare, education, entertainment, jewelry, and audiology.

How Does 3D Printing Work?

All 3D printing processes start with a CAD model that is sent to software to prepare the design. Depending on the technology, the 3D printer might produce the part layer by layer by solidifying resin or sintering powder. The parts are then removed from the printer and post-processed for the specific application.

See how to go from design to 3D print with the Form 3 SLA 3D printer. This 5-minute video covers the basics of how to use the Form 3, from the software and materials to printing and post-processing.

 

1. Design

 

3D printers create parts from three-dimensional models, the mathematical representations of any three-dimensional surface created using computer-aided design (CAD) software or developed from 3D scan data. The design is then exported as an STL or OBJ file readable by print preparation software.

3D printers include software to specify print settings and slice the digital model into layers that represent horizontal cross-sections of the part. Adjustable printing settings include orientation, support structures (if needed), layer height, and material. Once setup is complete, the software sends the instructions to the printer via a wireless or cable connection.

 

2. 3D Print

 

Some 3D printers use a laser to cure liquid resin into hardened plastic, others fuse small particles of polymer powder at high temperatures to build parts. Most 3D printers can run unattended until the print is complete, and modern systems automatically refill the material required for the parts from cartridges.

With Formlabs 3D printers, an online Dashboard allows you to remotely manage printers, materials, and teams.

 

 

3. Post-Process

 

Depending on the technology and the material, the printed parts may require rinsing in isopropyl alcohol (IPA) to remove any uncured resin from their surface, post-curing to stabilize mechanical properties, manual work to remove support structures, or cleaning with compressed air or a media blaster to remove excess powder. Some of these processes can be automated with accessories.

3D printed parts can be used directly or post-processed for specific applications and the required finish by machining, priming, painting, fastening or joining. Often, 3D printing also serves as an intermediate step alongside conventional manufacturing methods, such as positives for investment casting jewelry and dental appliances, or molds for custom parts.

Types of 3D Printers

The three most established types of 3D printers for plastics parts are stereolithography (SLA), selective laser sintering (SLS), and fused deposition modeling (FDM). Formlabs offers two professional 3D printing technologies, SLA and SLS, bringing these powerful and accessible industrial fabrication tools into the creative hands of professionals around the world.

Stereolithography (SLA)

Stereolithography was the world’s first 3D printing technology, invented in the 1980s, and is still one of the most popular technologies for professionals. SLA 3D printers use a laser to cure liquid resin into hardened plastic in a process called photopolymerization.

SLA resin 3D printers have become vastly popular for their ability to produce high-accuracy, isotropic, and watertight prototypes and parts in a range of advanced materials with fine features and smooth surface finish. SLA resin formulations offer a wide range of optical, mechanical, and thermal properties to match those of standard, engineering, and industrial thermoplastics.

Resin 3D printing a great option for highly detailed prototypes requiring tight tolerances and smooth surfaces, such as molds, patterns, and functional parts. SLA 3D printers are widely used in a range of industries from engineering and product design to manufacturing, dentistry, jewelry, model making, and education.

Stereolithography is ideal for:

  • Rapid prototyping
  • Functional prototyping
  • Concept modeling
  • Short-run production
  • Dental applications
  • Jewelry prototyping and casting
Learn More About SLA 3D Printers

Stereolithography (SLA) 3D printing uses a laser to cure liquid photopolymer resin into solid isotropic parts.

SLA parts have sharp edges, a smooth surface finish, and minimal visible layer lines.

Selective Laser Sintering (SLS)

Selective laser sintering (SLS) 3D printers use a high-power laser to sinter small particles of polymer powder into a solid structure. The unfused powder supports the part during printing and eliminates the need for dedicated support structures. This makes SLS ideal for complex geometries, including interior features, undercuts, thin walls, and negative features. Parts produced with SLS printing have excellent mechanical characteristics, with strength resembling that of injection-molded parts.

The most common material for selective laser sintering is nylon, a popular engineering thermoplastic with excellent mechanical properties. Nylon is lightweight, strong, and flexible, as well as stable against impact, chemicals, heat, UV light, water, and dirt.

The combination of low cost per part, high productivity, and established materials make SLS a popular choice among engineers for functional prototyping, and a cost-effective alternative to injection molding for limited-run or bridge manufacturing.

Selective laser sintering is ideal for:

  • Functional prototyping
  • End-use parts
  • Short-run, bridge, or custom manufacturing
Learn More About SLS 3D Printers

SLS 3D printers use a high-powered laser to fuse small particles of polymer powder. 

SLS parts have a slightly rough surface finish, but almost no visible layer lines.

Fused Deposition Modeling (FDM)

Fused deposition modeling (FDM), also known as fused filament fabrication (FFF), is the most widely used type of 3D printing at the consumer level. FDM 3D printers work by extruding thermoplastic filaments, such as ABS (Acrylonitrile Butadiene Styrene), PLA (Polylactic Acid), through a heated nozzle, melting the material and applying the plastic layer by layer to a build platform. Each layer is laid down one at a time until the part is complete.

FDM 3D printers are well-suited for basic proof-of-concept models, as well as quick and low-cost prototyping of simple parts, such as parts that might typically be machined. However, FDM has the lowest resolution and accuracy when compared to SLA or SLS and is not the best option for printing complex designs or parts with intricate features. Higher-quality finishes may be obtained through chemical and mechanical polishing processes. Industrial FDM 3D printers use soluble supports to mitigate some of these issues and offer a wider range of engineering thermoplastics, but they also come at a steep price.

Fused deposition modeling is ideal for:

  • Basic proof-of-concept models
  • Simple prototyping
Learn More About FDM 3D Printers

FDM 3D printers build parts by melting and extruding thermoplastic filament, which a printer nozzle deposits layer by layer in the build area.

FDM parts tend to have visible layer lines and might show inaccuracies around complex features. 

How to Choose a Desktop 3D Printing Technology

Having trouble finding the best 3D printing process for your needs? In this video guide, we compare FDM, SLA, and SLS technologies, the most popular types of 3D printers, across the most important buying considerations.

Each 3D printing process has its own benefits and limitations that make them more suitable for certain applications. This video compares the functional and visual characteristics of FDM, SLA, and SLS printers 3D printers to help you identify the solution that best matches your requirements.

Do you need custom parts or prototypes fast? Compared to outsourcing to service providers or using traditional tools like machining, having a 3D printer in-house can save weeks of lead time. In this video, we compare the speed of FDM, SLA, and SLS 3D printing processes.

Comparing the cost of different 3D printers goes beyond sticker prices—these won’t tell you the full story of how much a 3D printed part will cost. Learn the three factors you need to consider for cost and how they compare across FDM, SLA, and SLS 3D printing technologies.

The Benefits of 3D Printing

As additive manufacturing processes build objects by adding material layer by layer, they offer a  unique set of advantages over traditional subtractive and formative manufacturing processes.

Speed

With traditional manufacturing processes, it can take weeks or months to receive a part. 3D printing turns CAD models into physical parts within a few hours, producing parts and assemblies from one-off concept models to functional prototypes and even small production runs for testing. This allows designers and engineers to develop ideas faster, and helps companies to bring products more quickly to the market.

Engineers at the AMRC turned to 3D printing to rapidly produce 500 high-precision drilling caps used in drilling trials for Airbus, cutting the lead time from weeks to only three days.

Cost

With 3D printing, there’s no need for the costly tooling and setup associated with injection molding or machining; the same equipment can be used from prototyping to production to create parts with different geometries. As 3D printing becomes increasingly capable of producing functional end-use parts, it can complement or replace traditional manufacturing methods for a growing range of applications in low- to mid-volumes.

Pankl Racing Systems substituted machined jigs and fixtures with 3D printed parts, decreasing costs by 80-90 percent that resulted in $150,000 in savings.

Customization

From shoes to clothes and bicycles, we’re surrounded by products made in limited, uniform sizes as businesses strive to standardize products to make them economical to manufacture. With 3D printing, only the digital design needs to be changed to tailor each product to the customer without additional tooling costs. This transformation first started to gain a foothold in industries where custom fit is essential, such medicine and dentistry, but as 3D printing becomes more affordable, it’s increasingly being used to mass customize consumer products.

Gillette's Razor Maker™ gives consumers the power to create and order customized 3D printed razor handles, with the choice of 48 different designs (and counting), a variety of colors, and the option to add custom text.

Design Freedom

3D printing can create complex shapes and parts, such as overhangs, microchannels, and organic shapes, that would be costly or even impossible to produce with traditional manufacturing methods. This provides the opportunity to consolidate assemblies into less individual parts to reduce weight, alleviate weak joints, and cut down on assembly time, unleashing new possibilities for design and engineering.

Nervous System launched the first-ever 3D printed ceramic jewelry line, consisting of intricate designs that would be impossible to manufacture using any other ceramic technique.

Reduced Risk

Product development is an iterative process that requires multiple rounds of testing, evaluation, and refinement. Finding and fixing design flaws early can help companies avoid costly revisions and tooling changes down the road. With 3D printing, engineers can thoroughly test prototypes that look and perform like final products, reducing the risks of usability and manufacturability issues before moving into production.

The developers of Plaato, an optically clear airlock for homebrewing, 3D printed 1,000 prototypes to fine tune their design before investing in expensive tooling.

Applications and Uses of 3D Printing

3D printing accelerates innovation and supports businesses across a wide range of industries, including engineering, manufacturing, dentistry, healthcare, education, entertainment, jewelry, audiology, and more.
 

Engineering and Product Design

Rapid prototyping with 3D printing empowers engineers and product designers to turn ideas into realistic proofs of concept, advance these concepts to high-fidelity prototypes that look and work like final products, and guide products through a series of validation stages toward mass production.

Applications:

Learn More

Manufacturing

Manufacturers automate production processes and streamline workflows by prototyping tooling and directly 3D printing custom tools, molds, and manufacturing aids at far lower costs and lead times than with traditional manufacturing. This reduces manufacturing costs and defects, increases quality, speeds up assembly, and maximizes labor effectiveness.

Applications:

Learn More

Dental

Digital dentistry reduces the risks and uncertainties introduced by human factors, providing higher consistency, accuracy, and precision at every stage of the workflow to improve patient care. 3D printers can produce a range of high-quality custom products and appliances at low unit costs with superior fit and repeatable results.

Applications:

Learn More

Education

3D printers are multifunctional tools for immersive learning and advanced research. They can encourage creativity and expose students to professional-level technology while supporting STEAM curricula across science, engineering, art, and design.

Applications:

Learn More

Healthcare

Affordable, professional-grade desktop 3D printing helps doctors deliver treatments and devices customized to better serve each unique individual, opening the door to high-impact medical applications while saving organizations significant time and costs from the lab to the operating room.

Applications:

Learn More

Entertainment

High definition physical models are widely used in sculpting, character modeling, and prop making. 3D printed parts have starred in stop-motion films, video games, bespoke costumes, and even special effects for blockbuster movies.

Applications:

Learn More

Jewelry

Jewelry professionals use CAD and 3D printing to rapidly prototype designs, fit clients, and produce large batches of ready-to-cast pieces. Digital tools allow for the creation of consistent, sharply detailed pieces without the tediousness and variability of wax carving.

Applications:

Learn More

Audiology

Hearing specialists and ear mold labs use digital workflows and 3D printing to manufacture higher quality custom ear products more consistently, and at higher volumes for applications like behind-the-ear hearing aids, hearing protection, and custom earplugs and earbuds.

Applications:

Learn More

Materials for 3D Printing

The market for 3D printing materials is wide and ever-growing, with printers for everything from plastics to metals, and even food and live tissue in development. Formlabs offers the following range of photopolymer materials for the desktop.

 

Standard

Standard 3D printing materials provide high resolution, fine features, and a smooth surface finish ideal for rapid prototyping, product development, and general modeling applications.

These materials are available in Black, White, and Grey with a matte finish and opaque appearance, Clear for any parts requiring translucency, and as a Color Kit to match almost any custom color.

Explore Standard Materials

Engineering

3D printing materials for engineering, manufacturing, and product design are formulated to provide advanced functionality, withstand extensive testing, perform under stress, and remain stable over time.

Engineering materials are ideal for 3D printing strong, precise concept models and prototypes to rapidly iterating through designs, asses form and fit, and optimize manufacturing processes.

Explore Engineering Materials

Dental

Dental resins empower dental labs and practices to rapidly manufacture a range of dental products cost-effectively in-house, from dental models to biocompatible surgical guidessplints , and orthodontic models for thermoforming retainers and aligners.

Explore Dental Materials

Medical

Medical resins empower hospitals to create patient-specific parts in a day at the point of care and support R&D for medical devices. These resins are formulated for 3D printing anatomical models, medical device and device components, and surgical planning and implant sizing tools.

Explore Jewelry Materials

Jewelry

Jewelry resins are formulated to capture breathtaking detail and create custom jewelry cost-effectively. These resins are ideal for jewelry prototyping and casting jewelry, as well as vulcanized rubber and RTV molding.

Explore Jewelry Materials

Specialty Resins

Specialty Resins push the limits of 3D printing, featuring advanced materials with unique mechanical properties that expand what’s possible with in-house fabrication on our stereolithography 3D printers. 

Explore Specialty Materials

How Much Does a 3D Printer Cost?

In recent years, high-resolution industrial 3D printers have become more affordable, intuitive, and reliable. As a result, the technology is now accessible to more businesses. Read our in-depth guide about 3D printer costs, or try our interactive tool to see if this technology makes economic sense your business.

Calculate Your ROI