Des imprimantes 3D professionnelles, puissantes et abordables

Formlabs s'établit comme la référence du secteur de l'impression 3D professionnelle pour les entreprises du monde entier, avec des imprimantes 3D accessibles et fiables pour le bureau et l'atelier. Faites évoluer votre prototypage et votre production en fonction de vos besoins, en imprimant des pièces haute résolution pour un coût et un encombrement réduit par rapport aux imprimantes 3D industrielles.

Form 3

L'imprimante 3D de bureau leader du secteur, avec le procédé Low Force Stereolithography

Découvrir la Form 3

Form 3L

La première imprimante 3D, grand format et abordable

Découvrez la Form 3L

Form Cell

Faites évoluer votre production en fonction de vos besoins avec des solutions multi-imprimantes

Configurer votre Form Cell

Fuse 1

La puissance industrielle du frittage sélectif au laser pour l'atelier

Voir Fuse 1

Qu'est-ce que l'impression 3D ?

Les procédés d'impression 3D ou de fabrication additive créent des pièces tridimensionnelles à partir de modèles de conception assistée par ordinateur (CAO) en ajoutant successivement du matériau couche par couche jusqu'à ce que la pièce soit réalisée.

Alors que les procédés d'impression 3D existent depuis les années 1980, les récentes avancées en matière de machines, de matériaux et de logiciels ont rendu l'impression 3D accessible à un plus grand nombre d'entreprises, leur permettant d'utiliser des outils jusqu'alors réservés à quelques industries de haute technologie.

Aujourd'hui, les imprimantes 3D de bureau et d'atelier professionnelles et peu coûteuses accélèrent l'innovation et soutiennent les entreprises dans divers secteurs, notamment l'ingénierie, la fabrication, la dentisterie, la santé, l'éducation, le divertissement, la joaillerie et l'audiologie.

Comment fonctionne l'impression 3D ?

Tous les procédés d'impression 3D commencent avec un modèle CAO, envoyé au logiciel pour préparer la conception. Selon le procédé, l'imprimante 3D peut produire la pièce couche par couche en solidifiant de la résine ou en frittant de la poudre. Les pièces sont ensuite retirées de l'imprimante puis traitées pour l'application spécifique.

Découvrez comment passer de la conception à l'impression 3D avec l'imprimante 3D Form 3. Cette vidéo de 5 minutes expose les bases de l'utilisation de la Form 3, depuis le logiciel et les matériaux jusqu'à l'impression et le post-traitement.

 

1. Conception

 

Les imprimantes 3D réalisent des pièces à partir de modèles tridimensionnels, qui sont des représentations mathématiques de surfaces tridimensionnelles quelconques créées à l'aide d'un logiciel de conception assistée par ordinateur (CAO) ou développée à partir de données de scan 3D. Le modèle est ensuite exporté sous forme de fichier STL ou OBJ, lisible par un logiciel de préparation à l'impression.

Les imprimantes 3D comportent un logiciel permettant de spécifier les paramètres d'impression et de découper le modèle numérique en couches qui représentent les sections horizontales de la pièce. Les paramètres d'impression permettent de régler l'orientation, les supports (si nécessaire), l'épaisseur de couche et le matériau. Une fois l'installation terminée, le logiciel envoie les instructions à l'imprimante par une connexion sans fil ou via un câble.

 

2. Impression 3D

 

Certaines imprimantes 3D utilisent un laser pour polymériser la résine liquide en plastique durci, d'autres fondent de petites particules de poudre de polymère à des températures élevées pour fabriquer des pièces. La plupart des imprimantes 3D peuvent fonctionner sans surveillance jusqu'à ce que l'impression soit terminée, et les systèmes modernes remplissent automatiquement le matériau nécessaire pour les pièces à partir de cartouches.

Avec les imprimantes 3D Formlabs, le Dashboard en ligne vous permet de gérer à distance les imprimantes, le matériau et les équipes.

 

3. Post-traitement

 

Selon la technologie et le matériau, les pièces imprimées peuvent nécessiter un rinçage à l'alcool isopropylique (IPA) pour éliminer toute résine non durcie de leur surface, une post-polymérisation pour stabiliser les propriétés mécaniques, une intervention manuelle pour enlever les structures de support ou un nettoyage avec de l'air comprimé ou un jet d'un autre matériau pour enlever l'excès de poudre. Certains de ces processus peuvent être automatisés avec des accessoires.

Les pièces imprimées en 3D peuvent être utilisées directement ou après traitement pour des applications spécifiques. La finition peut se faire par usinage, l'application d'un apprêt ou de peinture, et un type de fixation ou d'assemblage. Souvent, l'impression 3D sert aussi d'étape intermédiaire aux méthodes de fabrication conventionnelles, comme les moules positifs pour les bijoux et les appareils dentaires coulés à la cire perdue, ou encore les moules pour les pièces sur mesure.

Les avantages de l'impression 3D

Comme les procédés de fabrication additive fabriquent des objets en ajoutant du matériau couche par couche, ils offrent un ensemble unique d'avantages par rapport aux procédés de fabrication soustractifs et de mise en forme traditionnels.

Vitesse

Avec les procédés de fabrication traditionnels, cela peut prendre des semaines ou des mois pour recevoir une pièce. L'impression 3D fabrique les modèles CAO en quelques heures, produisant des pièces et des assemblages à partir de modèles conceptuels uniques, de prototypes fonctionnels et même de petites séries pour les essais. Cela permet aux concepteurs et aux ingénieurs de développer des idées plus rapidement et aide les entreprises à mettre leurs produits sur le marché plus rapidement.

Les ingénieurs de l'AMRC se sont tournés vers l'impression  3D pour produire rapidement 500 bouchons de perçage de haute précision utilisés pour des essais d'Airbus, réduisant le délai d'exécution de quelques semaines à seulement trois jours.

Coût

Avec l'impression 3D, il n'y a pas besoin de l'outillage et de l'installation coûteux associés au moulage par injection ou à l'usinage. Le même équipement peut être utilisé du prototypage à la production pour réaliser des pièces avec des formes différentes. Alors que l'impression 3D devient de plus en plus capable de produire des pièces finales fonctionnelles, elle peut compléter ou remplacer les méthodes de fabrication traditionnelles pour une gamme croissante d'applications à faible et moyen volume.

Pankl Racing Systems a remplacé les gabarits et fixations usinés par des pièces imprimées en 3D, ce qui a permis de réduire les coûts de 80 à 90 % et de réaliser des économies de 130 000 €.

Production sur mesure

Qu'il s'agisse de chaussures, de vêtements ou de bicyclettes, nous sommes entourés de produits fabriqués dans des tailles uniformes et limitées, car les entreprises s'efforcent de normaliser les produits pour les rendre économiques à fabriquer. Avec l'impression 3D, seul le design numérique doit être modifié pour adapter chaque produit au client sans frais d'outillage supplémentaires. Cette transformation a d'abord commencé à s'intégrer dans les industries où l'ajustement sur mesure est essentiel, comme la médecine et la dentisterie, mais à mesure que l'impression 3D devient plus abordable, elle est de plus en plus utilisée pour personnaliser en masse des produits de consommation.

Razor Maker™ de Gillette donne aux consommateurs la possibilité de créer et de commander des manches de rasoir imprimées en 3D personnalisées, avec plus de 48 designs différents, une grande gamme de couleurs et la possibilité d'ajouter un texte personnalisé.

Liberté de conception

L'impression 3D peut créer des formes et des pièces complexes, telles que des pièces avec parties surplombantes, des microcanaux et des formes organiques, qu'il serait coûteux, voire impossible de produire avec les méthodes de fabrication traditionnelles. Cela permet de réaliser des assemblages avec moins de pièces afin de réduire le poids, d'alléger les joints faibles et de réduire le temps de montage, ce qui ouvre de nouvelles possibilités de conception et d'ingénierie.

Nervous System a lancé la toute première ligne de bijoux en céramique imprimée en 3D, composée de motifs complexes qu'il serait impossible de fabriquer avec une autre technique céramique.

Risque réduit

Le développement de produits est un processus itératif qui nécessite de multiples séries de tests, d'évaluations et d'améliorations. Trouver et corriger rapidement les défauts de conception peut aider les entreprises à éviter des révisions coûteuses et des changements d'outillage en cours de route. Grâce à l'impression 3D, les ingénieurs peuvent tester en profondeur des prototypes qui ressemblent à des produits finis et dont les performances sont similaires, réduisant ainsi les risques de problèmes d'ergonomie et de fabricabilité avant de passer à la production.

Les développeurs de Plaato, un barboteur transparent pour le brassage à domicile, ont imprimé 1 000 prototypes en 3D pour affiner leur conception avant d'investir dans un outillage coûteux.

Applications et utilisations de l'impression 3D

L'impression 3D accélère l'innovation et soutient les entreprises dans dese secteurs très divers, notamment l'ingénierie, la fabrication, la dentisterie, les soins de santé, l'éducation, les loisirs, les bijoux, l'audiologie, et bien d'autres.

Ingénierie et conception de produits

Le prototypage rapide avec l'impression 3D permet aux ingénieurs et concepteurs de produits de démontrer la faisabilité de leurs idées, de faire évoluer les concepts pour obtenir des prototypes très fidèles, présentant le même aspect et le même fonctionnement que les pièces finales, et de faire passer une séries d'étapes de validation aux produits en vue d'une production de masse.

Applications :

En savoir plus

Production industrielle

Les fabricants automatisent les processus de production et rationalisent les processus de travail en faisant des prototypes des outils et en les imprimant directement en 3D sur mesure, en réalisant des moules et des auxiliaires de fabrication à des prix bien plus bas et en beaucoup moins de temps qu'en production industrielle traditionnelle. Cela permet de réduire les coûts de fabrication et les défauts, d'améliorer la qualité, d'accélérer l'assemblage et d'optimiser l'efficacité de la main d'œuvre.

Applications :

En savoir plus

Dentisterie

La dentisterie numérique réduit les risques et les incertitudes liés aux facteurs humains, apportant plus d'uniformité, d'exactitude et de précision à chaque étape du processus de travail pour offrir de meilleurs soins aux patients. Les imprimantes 3D peuvent produire de nombreux produits et dispositifs sur mesure de haute qualité à faible coût unitaire, avec un meilleur ajustement et des résultats reproductibles.

Applications :

En savoir plus

Enseignement

Les imprimantes 3D sont des outils multifonctionnels pour l'apprentissage en immersion et la recherche avancée. Elles peuvent favoriser la créativité et proposer aux étudiants des technologies de niveau professionnel, dans le cadre du programme STEAM en science, ingénierie, art et design.

Applications :

En savoir plus

Santé

L'impression 3D de bureau professionnelle et abordable aide les médecins à fournir des traitements et des dispositifs sur mesure pour mieux soigner chaque patient, ouvrant la voie à des applications médicales avec un fort impact, tout en faisant gagner du temps et de l'argent, des laboratoires aux blocs opératoires.

Applications :

En savoir plus

Loisirs

Les modèles physiques haute définition sont largement utilisés pour la sculpture, la modélisation de personnages et la fabrication d'accessoires. Des pièces 3D ont été utilisées dans des films en stop motion, des jeux vidéos, des costumes sur mesure et même des effets spéciaux de blockbusters.

Applications :

En savoir plus

Joaillerie

Les professionnels de la joaillerie utilisent la CAO et l'impression 3D pour réaliser des prototypes de leurs créations pour les faire essayer à leurs clients puis produire de grands lots de pièces prêtes pour le coulage du métal. Les outils numériques permettent de créer des pièces identiques et extrêmement détaillées sans être aussi fastidieux et variables que la gravure de cire.

Applications :

En savoir plus

Audiologie

Les spécialistes de l'audition et les laboratoires d'audioprothèse utilisent les processus de travail numériques et l'impression 3D pour fabriquer des produits auditifs sur mesure toujours de meilleure qualité et en plus grands volumes, notamment des appareils auditifs derrière les oreilles, des protections auditives ainsi que des bouchons d'oreilles et des écouteurs sur mesure.

Applications :

En savoir plus

Types d'imprimantes 3D

Formlabs fournit deux procédés professionnels d'impression 3D, la stéréolithographie et le frittage sélectif au laser, qui permettent aux professionnels du monde entier d'utiliser ces outils de fabrication industrielle puissants et accessibles.

Stéréolithographie (SLA)

Comment fonctionne la stéréolithographie

L'impression 3D en stéréolithographie (SLA) utilise un laser pour polymériser la résine photopolymère liquide en pièces isotropes solides.

Avec le nouveau procédé, le SLA inversé, une plateforme de fabrication est plongée dans un réservoir de résine, ne laissant qu'une mince couche de liquide entre la plateforme et le fond du réservoir. Les galvanomètres dirigent le laser à travers une fenêtre transparente au fond du réservoir de résine, dessinant une section transversale du modèle 3D et durcissant sélectivement le matériau. L'impression s'effectue par couches successives, chacune d'une épaisseur inférieure à cent microns. Les structures de support maintiennent les parties en surplomb ancrés à la plateforme si nécessaire. Lorsqu'une couche est terminée, la pièce est décollée du fond du réservoir, laissant couler de la résine fraîche en dessous, et la plateforme est à nouveau abaissée. Ce processus se répète jusqu'à ce que l'impression soit terminée.

La stéréolithographie est idéale pour :
  • Prototypage rapide
  • Prototypage fonctionnel
  • Modélisation du concept
  • Production de petites séries
  • Applications dentaires
  • Prototypage et moulage à la cire perdue en joaillerie
En savoir plus sur l'impression 3D SLA

Frittage sélectif par laser (SLS)

Comment fonctionne le frittage sélectif au laser

Les imprimantes 3D à frittage laser sélectif (SLS) utilisent un laser haute puissance pour fritter de petites particules de poudre polymère en une structure solide.

La poudre est dispersée en couche mince sur une plateforme à l'intérieur de la chambre de fabrication et l'imprimante préchauffe la poudre à une température juste en dessous du point de fusion de la matière première. Le laser balaie une section transversale du modèle 3D, fusionnant les particules ensemble mécaniquement pour créer une pièce solide. La poudre non fondue supporte la pièce pendant l'opération, ce qui évite d'avoir à lui ajouter des structures de support. La plateforme s'abaisse d'une couche dans la chambre de construction, généralement entre 50 et 200 microns, et un rouleau applique une nouvelle couche de poudre sur le dessus. Le laser balaie ensuite la section suivante et ce processus se répète pour chaque couche jusqu'à ce que les pièces soient complètes.

Le frittage sélectif au laser est idéal pour :
  • Prototypage fonctionnel
  • Pièces finales
  • Fabrication de produits en petite ou moyenne série, ou sur mesure
En savoir plus sur l'impression 3D SLS

Matériaux pour l'impression 3D

Le marché des matériaux d'impression 3D est vaste et en pleine expansion, avec des imprimantes pour tout matériau, des plastiques aux métaux, en passant par les produits alimentaires et les tissus vivants en développement. Formlabs offre la gamme suivante de matériaux photopolymères pour le bureau.

Standard

Les matériaux d'impression 3D standard produisent des pièces de haute résolution, avec des détails fins et un fini de surface lisse, idéal pour le prototypage rapide, le développement de produits et les applications générales de modélisation.

Ces matériaux sont disponibles en noir, blanc et gris avec un fini mat et un aspect opaque, ainsi que transparent pour toutes les pièces nécessitant d'être translucides, et le Color Kit permet d'obtenir presque toutes les couleurs personnalisées.

Découvrez les matériaux d'impression 3D standard

Ingénierie

Les matériaux d'impression 3D pour l'ingénierie, la fabrication et la conception de produits, sont formulés pour offrir des fonctionnalités avancées, résister à des essais exhaustifs, fonctionner sous contrainte et rester stables dans le temps.

Les résines techniques sont idéales pour l'impression 3D de modèles conceptuels et de prototypes solides et précis afin d'itérer rapidement la conception, d'évaluer la forme et l'ajustement, et d'optimiser les processus de fabrication.

Découvrez les matériaux techniques d'impression 3D

Dentisterie

Les résines dentaires permettent aux laboratoires et aux cabinets dentaires de fabriquer rapidement et à moindre coût toute une gamme de produits dentaires en interne, et notamment des modèles dentaires, des guides chirurgicaux biocompatibles, des gouttières et des modèles pour le thermoformage d'aligneurs et de gouttières orthodontiques.

Découvrez les matériaux d'impression dentaire 3D

Joaillerie

Les résines de joaillerie sont formulées pour capturer des détails incroyables et créer des bijoux personnalisés de façon rentable. Ces résines sont idéales pour le prototypage et le moulage de bijoux, ainsi que pour le caoutchouc vulcanisé et le moulage RTV.

Découvrez les matériaux d'impression 3D de joaillerie

Céramique

Ce matériau expérimental repousse les limites de l'impression 3D. Ceramic Resin est conçue pour imprimer des pièces en impression 3D présentant un fini semblable à celui de la pierre. Les pièces après cuisson sont en céramique véritable. Il permet de réaliser des pièces en céramique pour la recherche en ingénierie ou la réalisation de créations d'art et de design uniques.

Découvrez les matériaux d'impression 3D en céramique

Coûts d'impression 3D et retour sur investissement

Ces dernières années, les imprimantes 3D industrielles haute résolution sont devenues plus abordables, intuitives et fiables. Par conséquent, la technologie est maintenant accessible à un plus grand nombre d'entreprises. Lisez notre guide détaillé sur les coûts de l'impression 3D ou essayez notre outil interactif pour voir si cette technologie est rentable pour votre entreprise.

Calculez votre retour sur investissement

Notions de base sur l'impression 3D et FAQ

Vous ne connaissez pas encore l'impression 3D ? Explorez nos guides pour connaître les termes clés et les caractéristiques spécifiques de l'impression 3D afin de trouver la meilleure solution pour votre entreprise.

Pour d'autres questions, 
Request a Sample

Powerful, Affordable 3D Printers for Professionals

Formlabs is establishing the industry benchmark for professional 3D printing for businesses around the globe with accessible, reliable 3D printers for the desktop and the benchtop. Scale your prototyping and production with high-resolution parts at a fraction of a cost and footprint of industrial 3D printers.

 

Form 3

The Industry-Leading Desktop 3D Printer, Powered By Low Force Stereolithography

Form 3L

The First Affordable Large Format Resin 3D Printer

Factory Solutions

The Next-Generation of Production, Tailored To You

Fuse 1

The Industrial Power of Selective Laser Sintering for the Benchtop

What is 3D Printing?

3D printing or additive manufacturing (AM) technologies create three-dimensional parts from computer-aided design (CAD) models by successively adding material layer by layer until physical part is created.

While 3D printing technologies have been around since the 1980s, recent advances in machinery, materials, and software have made 3D printing accessible to a wider range of businesses, enabling more and more companies to use tools previously limited to a few high-tech industries.

Today, professional, low-cost desktop and benchtop 3D printers accelerate innovation and support businesses in various industries including engineering, manufacturing, dentistry, healthcare, education, entertainment, jewelry, and audiology.

How Does 3D Printing Work?

All 3D printing processes start with a CAD model that is sent to software to prepare the design. Depending on the technology, the 3D printer might produce the part layer by layer by solidifying resin or sintering powder. The parts are then removed from the printer and post-processed for the specific application.

See how to go from design to 3D print with the Form 3 SLA 3D printer. This 5-minute video covers the basics of how to use the Form 3, from the software and materials to printing and post-processing.

 

1. Design

 

3D printers create parts from three-dimensional models, the mathematical representations of any three-dimensional surface created using computer-aided design (CAD) software or developed from 3D scan data. The design is then exported as an STL or OBJ file readable by print preparation software.

3D printers include software to specify print settings and slice the digital model into layers that represent horizontal cross-sections of the part. Adjustable printing settings include orientation, support structures (if needed), layer height, and material. Once setup is complete, the software sends the instructions to the printer via a wireless or cable connection.

 

2. 3D Print

 

Some 3D printers use a laser to cure liquid resin into hardened plastic, others fuse small particles of polymer powder at high temperatures to build parts. Most 3D printers can run unattended until the print is complete, and modern systems automatically refill the material required for the parts from cartridges.

With Formlabs 3D printers, an online Dashboard allows you to remotely manage printers, materials, and teams.

 

 

3. Post-Process

 

Depending on the technology and the material, the printed parts may require rinsing in isopropyl alcohol (IPA) to remove any uncured resin from their surface, post-curing to stabilize mechanical properties, manual work to remove support structures, or cleaning with compressed air or a media blaster to remove excess powder. Some of these processes can be automated with accessories.

3D printed parts can be used directly or post-processed for specific applications and the required finish by machining, priming, painting, fastening or joining. Often, 3D printing also serves as an intermediate step alongside conventional manufacturing methods, such as positives for investment casting jewelry and dental appliances, or molds for custom parts.

Types of 3D Printers

The three most established types of 3D printers for plastics parts are stereolithography (SLA), selective laser sintering (SLS), and fused deposition modeling (FDM). Formlabs offers two professional 3D printing technologies, SLA and SLS, bringing these powerful and accessible industrial fabrication tools into the creative hands of professionals around the world.

Stereolithography (SLA)

Stereolithography was the world’s first 3D printing technology, invented in the 1980s, and is still one of the most popular technologies for professionals. SLA 3D printers use a laser to cure liquid resin into hardened plastic in a process called photopolymerization.

SLA resin 3D printers have become vastly popular for their ability to produce high-accuracy, isotropic, and watertight prototypes and parts in a range of advanced materials with fine features and smooth surface finish. SLA resin formulations offer a wide range of optical, mechanical, and thermal properties to match those of standard, engineering, and industrial thermoplastics.

Resin 3D printing a great option for highly detailed prototypes requiring tight tolerances and smooth surfaces, such as molds, patterns, and functional parts. SLA 3D printers are widely used in a range of industries from engineering and product design to manufacturing, dentistry, jewelry, model making, and education.

Stereolithography is ideal for:

  • Rapid prototyping
  • Functional prototyping
  • Concept modeling
  • Short-run production
  • Dental applications
  • Jewelry prototyping and casting
Learn More About SLA 3D Printers

Stereolithography (SLA) 3D printing uses a laser to cure liquid photopolymer resin into solid isotropic parts.

SLA parts have sharp edges, a smooth surface finish, and minimal visible layer lines.

Selective Laser Sintering (SLS)

Selective laser sintering (SLS) 3D printers use a high-power laser to sinter small particles of polymer powder into a solid structure. The unfused powder supports the part during printing and eliminates the need for dedicated support structures. This makes SLS ideal for complex geometries, including interior features, undercuts, thin walls, and negative features. Parts produced with SLS printing have excellent mechanical characteristics, with strength resembling that of injection-molded parts.

The most common material for selective laser sintering is nylon, a popular engineering thermoplastic with excellent mechanical properties. Nylon is lightweight, strong, and flexible, as well as stable against impact, chemicals, heat, UV light, water, and dirt.

The combination of low cost per part, high productivity, and established materials make SLS a popular choice among engineers for functional prototyping, and a cost-effective alternative to injection molding for limited-run or bridge manufacturing.

Selective laser sintering is ideal for:

  • Functional prototyping
  • End-use parts
  • Short-run, bridge, or custom manufacturing
Learn More About SLS 3D Printers

SLS 3D printers use a high-powered laser to fuse small particles of polymer powder. 

SLS parts have a slightly rough surface finish, but almost no visible layer lines.

Fused Deposition Modeling (FDM)

Fused deposition modeling (FDM), also known as fused filament fabrication (FFF), is the most widely used type of 3D printing at the consumer level. FDM 3D printers work by extruding thermoplastic filaments, such as ABS (Acrylonitrile Butadiene Styrene), PLA (Polylactic Acid), through a heated nozzle, melting the material and applying the plastic layer by layer to a build platform. Each layer is laid down one at a time until the part is complete.

FDM 3D printers are well-suited for basic proof-of-concept models, as well as quick and low-cost prototyping of simple parts, such as parts that might typically be machined. However, FDM has the lowest resolution and accuracy when compared to SLA or SLS and is not the best option for printing complex designs or parts with intricate features. Higher-quality finishes may be obtained through chemical and mechanical polishing processes. Industrial FDM 3D printers use soluble supports to mitigate some of these issues and offer a wider range of engineering thermoplastics, but they also come at a steep price.

Fused deposition modeling is ideal for:

  • Basic proof-of-concept models
  • Simple prototyping
Learn More About FDM 3D Printers

FDM 3D printers build parts by melting and extruding thermoplastic filament, which a printer nozzle deposits layer by layer in the build area.

FDM parts tend to have visible layer lines and might show inaccuracies around complex features. 

How to Choose a Desktop 3D Printing Technology

Having trouble finding the best 3D printing process for your needs? In this video guide, we compare FDM, SLA, and SLS technologies, the most popular types of 3D printers, across the most important buying considerations.

Each 3D printing process has its own benefits and limitations that make them more suitable for certain applications. This video compares the functional and visual characteristics of FDM, SLA, and SLS printers 3D printers to help you identify the solution that best matches your requirements.

Do you need custom parts or prototypes fast? Compared to outsourcing to service providers or using traditional tools like machining, having a 3D printer in-house can save weeks of lead time. In this video, we compare the speed of FDM, SLA, and SLS 3D printing processes.

Comparing the cost of different 3D printers goes beyond sticker prices—these won’t tell you the full story of how much a 3D printed part will cost. Learn the three factors you need to consider for cost and how they compare across FDM, SLA, and SLS 3D printing technologies.

The Benefits of 3D Printing

As additive manufacturing processes build objects by adding material layer by layer, they offer a  unique set of advantages over traditional subtractive and formative manufacturing processes.

Speed

With traditional manufacturing processes, it can take weeks or months to receive a part. 3D printing turns CAD models into physical parts within a few hours, producing parts and assemblies from one-off concept models to functional prototypes and even small production runs for testing. This allows designers and engineers to develop ideas faster, and helps companies to bring products more quickly to the market.

Engineers at the AMRC turned to 3D printing to rapidly produce 500 high-precision drilling caps used in drilling trials for Airbus, cutting the lead time from weeks to only three days.

Cost

With 3D printing, there’s no need for the costly tooling and setup associated with injection molding or machining; the same equipment can be used from prototyping to production to create parts with different geometries. As 3D printing becomes increasingly capable of producing functional end-use parts, it can complement or replace traditional manufacturing methods for a growing range of applications in low- to mid-volumes.

Pankl Racing Systems substituted machined jigs and fixtures with 3D printed parts, decreasing costs by 80-90 percent that resulted in $150,000 in savings.

Customization

From shoes to clothes and bicycles, we’re surrounded by products made in limited, uniform sizes as businesses strive to standardize products to make them economical to manufacture. With 3D printing, only the digital design needs to be changed to tailor each product to the customer without additional tooling costs. This transformation first started to gain a foothold in industries where custom fit is essential, such medicine and dentistry, but as 3D printing becomes more affordable, it’s increasingly being used to mass customize consumer products.

Gillette's Razor Maker™ gives consumers the power to create and order customized 3D printed razor handles, with the choice of 48 different designs (and counting), a variety of colors, and the option to add custom text.

Design Freedom

3D printing can create complex shapes and parts, such as overhangs, microchannels, and organic shapes, that would be costly or even impossible to produce with traditional manufacturing methods. This provides the opportunity to consolidate assemblies into less individual parts to reduce weight, alleviate weak joints, and cut down on assembly time, unleashing new possibilities for design and engineering.

Nervous System launched the first-ever 3D printed ceramic jewelry line, consisting of intricate designs that would be impossible to manufacture using any other ceramic technique.

Reduced Risk

Product development is an iterative process that requires multiple rounds of testing, evaluation, and refinement. Finding and fixing design flaws early can help companies avoid costly revisions and tooling changes down the road. With 3D printing, engineers can thoroughly test prototypes that look and perform like final products, reducing the risks of usability and manufacturability issues before moving into production.

The developers of Plaato, an optically clear airlock for homebrewing, 3D printed 1,000 prototypes to fine tune their design before investing in expensive tooling.

Applications and Uses of 3D Printing

3D printing accelerates innovation and supports businesses across a wide range of industries, including engineering, manufacturing, dentistry, healthcare, education, entertainment, jewelry, audiology, and more.
 

Engineering and Product Design

Rapid prototyping with 3D printing empowers engineers and product designers to turn ideas into realistic proofs of concept, advance these concepts to high-fidelity prototypes that look and work like final products, and guide products through a series of validation stages toward mass production.

Applications:

Learn More

Manufacturing

Manufacturers automate production processes and streamline workflows by prototyping tooling and directly 3D printing custom tools, molds, and manufacturing aids at far lower costs and lead times than with traditional manufacturing. This reduces manufacturing costs and defects, increases quality, speeds up assembly, and maximizes labor effectiveness.

Applications:

Learn More

Dental

Digital dentistry reduces the risks and uncertainties introduced by human factors, providing higher consistency, accuracy, and precision at every stage of the workflow to improve patient care. 3D printers can produce a range of high-quality custom products and appliances at low unit costs with superior fit and repeatable results.

Applications:

Learn More

Education

3D printers are multifunctional tools for immersive learning and advanced research. They can encourage creativity and expose students to professional-level technology while supporting STEAM curricula across science, engineering, art, and design.

Applications:

Learn More

Healthcare

Affordable, professional-grade desktop 3D printing helps doctors deliver treatments and devices customized to better serve each unique individual, opening the door to high-impact medical applications while saving organizations significant time and costs from the lab to the operating room.

Applications:

Learn More

Entertainment

High definition physical models are widely used in sculpting, character modeling, and prop making. 3D printed parts have starred in stop-motion films, video games, bespoke costumes, and even special effects for blockbuster movies.

Applications:

Learn More

Jewelry

Jewelry professionals use CAD and 3D printing to rapidly prototype designs, fit clients, and produce large batches of ready-to-cast pieces. Digital tools allow for the creation of consistent, sharply detailed pieces without the tediousness and variability of wax carving.

Applications:

Learn More

Audiology

Hearing specialists and ear mold labs use digital workflows and 3D printing to manufacture higher quality custom ear products more consistently, and at higher volumes for applications like behind-the-ear hearing aids, hearing protection, and custom earplugs and earbuds.

Applications:

Learn More

Materials for 3D Printing

The market for 3D printing materials is wide and ever-growing, with printers for everything from plastics to metals, and even food and live tissue in development. Formlabs offers the following range of photopolymer materials for the desktop.

 

Standard

Standard 3D printing materials provide high resolution, fine features, and a smooth surface finish ideal for rapid prototyping, product development, and general modeling applications.

These materials are available in Black, White, and Grey with a matte finish and opaque appearance, Clear for any parts requiring translucency, and as a Color Kit to match almost any custom color.

Explore Standard Materials

Engineering

3D printing materials for engineering, manufacturing, and product design are formulated to provide advanced functionality, withstand extensive testing, perform under stress, and remain stable over time.

Engineering materials are ideal for 3D printing strong, precise concept models and prototypes to rapidly iterating through designs, asses form and fit, and optimize manufacturing processes.

Explore Engineering Materials

Dental

Dental resins empower dental labs and practices to rapidly manufacture a range of dental products cost-effectively in-house, from dental models to biocompatible surgical guidessplints , and orthodontic models for thermoforming retainers and aligners.

Explore Dental Materials

Medical

Medical resins empower hospitals to create patient-specific parts in a day at the point of care and support R&D for medical devices. These resins are formulated for 3D printing anatomical models, medical device and device components, and surgical planning and implant sizing tools.

Explore Jewelry Materials

Jewelry

Jewelry resins are formulated to capture breathtaking detail and create custom jewelry cost-effectively. These resins are ideal for jewelry prototyping and casting jewelry, as well as vulcanized rubber and RTV molding.

Explore Jewelry Materials

Specialty Resins

Specialty Resins push the limits of 3D printing, featuring advanced materials with unique mechanical properties that expand what’s possible with in-house fabrication on our stereolithography 3D printers. 

Explore Specialty Materials

How Much Does a 3D Printer Cost?

In recent years, high-resolution industrial 3D printers have become more affordable, intuitive, and reliable. As a result, the technology is now accessible to more businesses. Read our in-depth guide about 3D printer costs, or try our interactive tool to see if this technology makes economic sense your business.

Calculate Your ROI